Anonymous
Anonymous asked in SportsTennis · 2 months ago

did djokovic deserve to be booted out of US open?

10 Answers

Relevance
  • Jill
    Lv 7
    1 month ago
    Favourite answer

    Yes. Obviously he didn't mean to hit that lady but the rules are clear. 

  • 4 weeks ago

    yes because he is a "teh donald" supporter mind

  • 1 month ago

    I think the rule that got him booted out is a bit ridiculous but technically strictly following the rules yes he had to be defaulted. Don't know the exact wording but I think the rule is if u hit a ball that strikes an official intentional or not it's an immediate default. It's not just hitting balls, remember David Nabaldian a few years ago kicked an advertising hoarding which cut the leg of a line judge, again completely unintentional. But i think the rule perhaps needs a little tweeking because obviously Novak had no intention to hit the lady, and the possible winner of the event goes out like that.

  • 1 month ago

    Heard it's not the first time he's thrown a fit. Where ball was struck against the wall and close to people. He had it coming. Imagine if he hit her eye and she went blind. I'm a fan and not defending the guy. Plus he's not banned for life. It's one tournament and yes I know it's a major. He'll take a long vacation and forget about it

  • What do you think of the answers? You can sign in to give your opinion on the answer.
  • garry
    Lv 4
    1 month ago

    yes , rules are rules and not one forced him to  hit the ball .next  time he wont do it again .

  • 1 month ago

    No. 

    1. If the video I could find is reliable, he did not hit the ball with full strength and speed...

    2. when players are serving -- full force and speed - line judges ,usually can avoid the ball...

    3. I could not see -find a video what happens with her, but it seems to me that she was not focused on terrain...

    4. If I had a ticket , sitting, watching...I would not like arbitrary chosen winner...

    5. By the way, technology could replace line judges, right now, we have an additional reason - for their own safety.

  • Yes- it was an obvious and clear rule violation.  You either enforce the rules or you don't.

  • 1 month ago

    Yes, he did. It's not the first time he's done somrthing like that.

  • 2 months ago

    Yes.   The rules re hitting a ball round the court at random, and striking an unfortunate line judge are quite clear.   Djokovic (and others who have done this, unintentional or not) needs to get himself some anger management help.   And for once McEnroe is right - Djokovic will have to learn to live with his 'bad guy' reputation and stop trying to make the crowd love him.

    @ Srbo Sutaric     The line-judge's attention level would have dropped at that particular point in the match, when the match wasn't in play.   No doubt she didn't expect Djokovic to belt a ball round the back of the Court so she could hardly be blamed in any of what happened.    To the TDs, there are no excuses for ignoring the rules of the game.  Which Djokovic did.

  • 2 months ago

    It's a sad unlucky situation, but the rules are clear.

Still have questions? Get answers by asking now.