John asked in Games & RecreationBoard Games · 2 months ago

In Scrabble, if you can add an "s" to the end of an existing word, do you get points for the entire word?

10 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 month ago

    The simple answer is yes. But you only get the bonus (triple or double the points) if the "s" goes on a square that lets you get the bonus.

    That said, house rules can be so that the play is not valid (except when you are entering the word with an "s" in the first setting of the word (so you can put in "pencils" as the complete word, but not add the "s" as your complete move). So, you might add the "s" to "pencil" if you are using the "s" as part of a new word (like adding "sport" to "pencil" to get "pencils" and "sport"

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 1 month ago

    Yes, and if you place it on a DW or TW tile, you get double/triple the total points for the word.

    A tip to remember: Save atleast one S for the end, so that even when u don't have much combinations left, the plural can get you some extra points.

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 2 months ago

    Definitely yes.  And if you make that plural by covering a double-word or triple-word square, you get the bonus points against the whole word.

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 2 months ago

    Yes.  So never forget to look for plurals whilst you're waiting for your turn.

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 2 months ago

    I think so, yes.

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 2 months ago

    Youre allowed to pluralize anything. So the points work the same and dont change from the rules.

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 2 months ago

    While it's a weak play, it's a totally legitimate to add an 'S' to form the plural form of a noun to create a new word on the board.

    Please be aware that you only get the base points value of the world plus any modifiers the 'S' occupies, as all points modifiers on the board are a ONE-TIME USE deal that is awarded to the player that reaches said space on their turn with a valid word.

    The makers of Scrabble were aware of the abuse potential of this & made two safeguards against this in order to discourage such actions & encourage more creatively wordplay.  There's only 2 S's in the tile pool for a standard game of Scrabble & they're only worth a single point.  You could also utilize the 2 blank titles in this manner as well, but they're not worth any points.  In Super Scrabble, the tile pool is doubled (4 S's & 4 Blank Tiles)

    FOR EXAMPLE, if Player A played the word "Pencil" on a Triple Word Score would net a score of 30 points (= 10 points base x 3 modifier).  If Player B adds an 's' to create the world "Pencils", they would only score 11 points as the Triple Word Score has been exhausted.

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 2 months ago

    Once I went to Brazil to the house of Susana Lucia Camilion in Brazil the baptism of Carla Garon and we went to Rio De Janeiro long time no seen to Copacabana and received an email by Jasoer Vos we were going to release DE EENHEID album.

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 2 months ago

    Yes, but only the face values.  If some of those existing letters are on bonus letter or word squares, you don't get the bonus.

    Of course, in most versions of the rules, placing a single "s" on the end of a word is an invalid play.

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 2 months ago

    Yes, you sure do. But you DON'T get extra points for pre-existing tiles on a special square.

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.