promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

if you move a chess piece in the wrong place while holding it can you move it?

12 Answers

Relevance
  • 2 weeks ago

    As long as you do not take your hand from the piece you can change the square to move it to and if you want to adjust a piece you say j'dub or I adjust before you do so and it is legal but if you not say this and take you hand off of the piece then the move is made.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • 2 months ago

    When you touch the piece you have the obligation to play it (cannot play other piece).

    When the piece touch the board in certain square you can´t take it up and play to another. 

    There are many examples in professional chess, but it´s difficult in a tournament with many games at the same time. 

     https://www.chessgames.com/perl/chessgame?gid=1070...

    Kasparov played at first 36...Nc5 and then changed it to Nf8. Judith looked at the arbiter but her claim was not enough firmly.  

  • Yavan
    Lv 7
    2 months ago

    Theoretically, yes.

    But you can't just keep doing that.

    Touch piece means you have to move a piece you touched. (These are tournament rules).

    If you have not yet dropped the piece (if you're still in contact with it) you can still move it to another square, but...

    a) Constantly doing this is very amateurish 

    b) and will have somebody calling the referee in a tournament, because it becomes distracting and distracting your opponent is against the rules and 

    c) Overuse of this is giving you an undue advantage and would fall under the general rules about being a bad sport and an experienced referee would penalize you.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • 2 months ago

    I've never been in a game where you could take your move back if you had still had your hand on it. 

    Source(s): Usually if you have your hand on it the entire time, yes. The other person would have to be a real price if she didn't.
    • Chris Ancor
      Lv 7
      2 months agoReport

      should have, it is quite legal.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • What do you think of the answers? You can sign in to give your opinion on the answer.
  • funnel
    Lv 4
    2 months ago

    Osmosis and 15 cha

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • 2 months ago

    Most players who run with time controls of Game / 15 or longer will run on the "Touch Move, Clock Play" rule...

    * If you touch one of your pieces on your turn, you MUST MOVE it... if you can legally do so. -- If you wish to recenter a piece on it's square, you MUST state "adjusting" (or thereabouts) before touching the piece.  If you move the piece off their square, you've officially touched that piece.

    * If you touch one of your opponent's pieces on your turn, you MUST CAPTURE it... if you can legally do so. -- You can still choose which of your pieces complete the capture if there's multiple options.  If you done both (touch one of your pieces & one of your opponents), you are locked into that move, assuming it's a legal move.

    * Punching the clock officially ends your turn ("Clock Play") -- In timed games, you can move the piece as much as you like in relation to it's starting point for that turn...  even if you remove your hand from the piece.  With this, you can change your move as many times you like until you hit the clock to end your turn.  It's considered bad form if you punch the clock with your alternate hand (the one that did NOT move the piece on the board).

    * In untimed games, removing your hand from the piece ends your turn. -- As there's nothing to note it's still your turn, your opponent cannot take their turn until your hand is off the board & related pieces.

    Please be aware that it's HEAVILY DISCOURAGED to physically review potential moves with the pieces, as it's considered bad form.  Players are suppose to visualize things mentally BEFORE making their move.  In Blitz games (Game / 5 or shorter), the touch rule is NOT observed due to the tight time controls.

    If you make an illegal move, your opponent can immediately hit their clock (if you're playing with one) & revert the board to it's previous state after pointing out WHY the move is illegal.  In tournament play, they may stop their clock & call for an adjudicator to address the illegal move (where they will revert the board & assess a penalty, which they will usually award 2 minutes to your opponent on the first offense & the game in whole to your opponent on the second offense).

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • 2 months ago

    You not only 'can' move it, you 'have' to move it, as long as it has a legal move.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • 2 months ago

    The tournament rule is 'touch move' meaning you still have to move that piece, but not necessarily to that square.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • Anonymous
    2 months ago

    The rule as far as i know is you haven't completed your move until you let go of the piece.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • Cei
    Lv 5
    2 months ago

    I was taught that you could move it back or to somewhere else if you didn't take your hand off it. As soon as you let go that was it.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
Still have questions? Get answers by asking now.