promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

Is it legal to cook for meat and vegan diners in the same pan?

I mean this by context of law, a source would be greatly appreciated.

12 Answers

Relevance
  • 2 months ago

    If you cook previously vegan food in a pan which hasn't been "koshered" after cooking meat, that food is not vegan and you would be misleading the public if you served it. The usual practice is to have two sets of kitchen utensils, one for non-vegan and one for vegan food. But you could follow the Jewish advice for rendering kitchen equipment kosher because it amounts to the same thing.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • Willie
    Lv 7
    3 months ago

    If they don't see you than who is going to know.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • Anonymous
    3 months ago

    Depends where you are in the world, laws vary from place to place.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • Anonymous
    3 months ago

    A “vegan diner” is a vegan who is dining. There would be lots of laws concerned with cooking a person and, at the very least, it would be considered anti-social, and I can imagine the vegan objecting.

    Otherwise, although you don't specify a country I can't imagine any country has laws relating to what pans you have to use to cook food in or how the food can be cooked.

    You don't mention cooking the food commercially and serving it to paying customers but, obviously, food cooked in the same container as non-vegan food would not be vegan and, in most countries, you would be breaking the law claiming it was.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • What do you think of the answers? You can sign in to give your opinion on the answer.
  • 3 months ago

    There is no legal reason not to but strict vegans and vegetarians would not want to eat f9od cooked alongside meat, because of the possibility of, as they see it, cross-contamination. The only time it would be of legal consequences is if you run a commercial eating place (eg bistro, cafe, canteen, hotel, inn, restaurant or takeaway) and you advertise as veg(etari)an friendly, when you may face civil action. That is why Burger King in its ads for their new plant-based burger state that it may not be suitable for veg(etari)ans as it is cooked alongside meat products. The product is aimed at flexitarians and meat-reducers. 

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • 3 months ago

    To cook meat we put cinnamon, cardamom, bringi leaves.

    For others we use pulses such as mustard, fenugreek etc.

    So it is better to wash and use. Since the oil used for one cooking

    cannot be reused for another cooking.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • ?
    Lv 7
    3 months ago

    It depends on the exact context. In a private setting, theres no law requiring it, but if its in a restaurant or similar, and youre claiming a dish is vegan, you either have to use seperate tools, or put a disclaimer on the menu that the vegan items have been prepared using utensiles that were also used to cook meat dishes. Of course, in a public setting, you should always wash everything between uses, so cross contamination should not be an issue.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • 3 months ago

    Its not illegal to do that.

    In a professional setting, the pans are generally washed between uses so its rarely an issue unless you are talking about the grill top or deep fryer. THEN it would be done because its impractical to emty a huge deep fryer or clean the entire grill top to make ONE item for a stray vegan or vegetarian.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • 3 months ago

    "Is it legal to cook for meat and vegan diners in the same pan?"

    Yes it's legal to cook meat in a pan, and then a vegan suitable food in the same pan, as long as it's properly cleaned. However there is NO law that governs that in any legal context what so ever.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • 3 months ago

    There are no vegan laws. A restaurant is under no obligation to call something vegan or not. They could call a hamburger vegan and be under not scrutiny from authorities. Of course, the general public would have a say. 

    But, a restaurant might deem a dish vegan, but it might be cooked in a pan that had meat in it. Again, no authority is going to say they can't. You can only ask if it happens and decline to order the dish if it does not meet you requirements.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
Still have questions? Get answers by asking now.