promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
Jeffrey K asked in SportsHockey · 2 months ago

In NHL hockey, if a penalty shot is called but time runs out before the defense touches puck, do they still get the shot? Or is game over?

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 2 months ago
    Favourite answer

    I'm confused by what you mean here-

    Are you asking if a guy is on a breakaway, gets halled down before he can take the shot but the buzzer ends before the ref can blow the whistle? Then there is no penalty shot, game is over, final buzzer has sounded.

    Now if this occurs before the buzzer goes off, penalty shot occurs.

    • ...Show all comments
    • curtisports2
      Lv 7
      2 months agoReport

      The referees look at the play clock to see at what time the infraction occurred. The clock is reset to that time, 5 seconds. The penalty shot is awarded and taken.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • 2 months ago

    If a penalty shot is called, time is called. The shot itself is on dead time.

    The only time the clock runs until the defense gains possession is on a delayed penalty, which a penalty shot is not.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • 2 months ago

    Yes, they still get the penalty shot.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • Bob
    Lv 7
    2 months ago

    When a penalty shot is called, play stops immediately,however if a penalty is called and the time expires before the defense touches the puck, there would be no penalty and the game is over.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • What do you think of the answers? You can sign in to give your opinion on the answer.
  • opurt
    Lv 7
    2 months ago

    An infraction that earns a penalty shot is an immediate whistle, and doesn't need to wait on the defensive team touching the puck. If it happened so close to the end of the game that the game ended before the referee could blow their whistle, they'd review it and set the clock at whatever small amount of time was left on the clock when they would have blown the play dead and award the penalty shot. It's also possible that it simply gets called as an automatic goal, depending on exactly what happened.

    If it was just a delayed penalty that does wait on the defense touching the puck, they'd still call the penalty at 20:00 of the 3rd period, but it wouldn't affect the game since it's over.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • Anonymous
    2 months ago

    they obviously get the shot, you cant just do whatever the hell you want in the last seconds and get away with it

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • jimmy
    Lv 5
    2 months ago

    Penalty shots happen as soon as the foul against a player on a breakaway happens. Unlike regular penalties the defense doesn't have to touch the puck before it's called. So there wouldn't be a situation where the time could run out before the penalty shot is taken.

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • 2 months ago

    Don’t they stop play immediately if there’s a penalty shot. A penalty shot is usually when the defense trips the offensive player on a breakaway  or he knocks the net loose to stop play. In either case, the whistle is blown as soon as the penalty occurs. 

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
  • 2 months ago

    It depends on what league your talking about.

    • Lv 6
      2 months agoReport

      nhl is literally the second word in the question. you just spam retarded answers all day, ive seen all kinds of textual garbage from you

    • Commenter avatarLog in to reply to the answers
Still have questions? Get answers by asking now.