Can i Drive a moped (legally) with a learners permit in Conneticut?
- BortLv 64 weeks ago
You need a valid license to operate any motor vehicle in any state of the US. We need a valid drivers license before we can get a motorcycle permit. It's not possible to get a motorcycle learners permit if you don't already have a drivers license.
"If your scooter has at least a 50cc engine size, it must be registered and display a license plate in Connecticut. Scooters with 49cc motors are actually considered mopeds and do not need to be registered, though you still need a driver's license to operate them."
Google search where the above quote came from that also leads to official CT state websites on the subject:
You need a drivers license in CT to drive any motorized vehicle on the roads. 49cc and above the vehicle needs to be registered and have a license plate, 49cc and below you still need a drivers license but don't need to register and get a tag for it.
- AntonLv 54 weeks ago
LAW: Connecticut vehicle code: https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/title_14.htm
It is impossible to drive or ride a "moped" in Connecticut -- there is no such thing in law.
What you probably want is a Section 14.1 (57) “Motor-driven cycle” means any of the following vehicles that have a seat height of not less than twenty-six inches and a motor having a capacity of less than fifty cubic centimeters piston displacement: (A) A motorcycle, other than an autocycle; (B) a motor scooter; or (C) a bicycle with attached motor, except an electric bicycle
With a learners permit, you are required to have a licensed driver beside you.
It is not possible for the trainer to sit beside you on a "moped."
- Pearl LLv 74 weeks ago
i would ask the dmv this question