Anonymous
Anonymous asked in SportsSnooker & Pool · 11 months ago

What does the message "No balls hit the rail after first contact" mean in 8 ball pool?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 11 months ago
    Favourite answer

    This seems to be a rule that everyone ignores or gets wrong. If no balls are pocketed, the following 2 things must happen for a shot to be legal...

    1) The cue ball contacts a legal ball first

    2) ANY ball (including the cue ball) contacts a rail

    Note that these 2 things must happen in this order, and not in reverse (e.g. you can't hit a rail with the cue ball then have it barely touch a legal ball and that's it). If you don't contact a legal ball and then hit a rail, it's a foul.

  • 11 months ago

    If no ball is pocketed on a shot, the cue ball must contact an object ball, and after that contact, at least one ball (cue ball or any object ball) must be driven to a rail, or the shot is a foul.

  • 11 months ago

    For a shot to be valid, either the cue ball or a target ball has to hit a pool table rail. If a ball does not make contact with the rail, then the shot is declared a foul.

Still have questions? Get answers by asking now.