If my golf ball lands in the center of a 10 foot in diameter rock bed surrounded by the cart path do I get relief or is it a stroke penalty?
Ruling on a golf shot
- Eugene DLv 67 months ago
if the ball and you are standing on the rock and it's not a hazard, you must play as it lies or take an "unplayable" penalty (2 strokes). Taking the penalty, you get 2 club lengths from there. If it's still on the rock, then you can opt for another "unplayable" penalty. If it hits the cart path, then you can get free relief.
- curtisports2Lv 79 months ago
Impossible to answer. Every course has ground rules unique to that course. On two different courses with a similar layout, you might get relief at one and a penalty at the other.
- 10 months ago
If the cart path is impeding your swing you would get relief (one clublength, no nearer the hole). UNLESS there is a local rule that says you are not entitled to relief on or near the cart paths (some courses will have natural materials for a cart path an want you to play from off the path).
- DavidLv 710 months ago
I think you have to take an unplayable lie with penalty.
- What do you think of the answers? You can sign in to give your opinion on the answer.
- Anonymous10 months ago
read the local rules