What would happen if a professional golfer decided to play a mulligan when he knew he wasn't going to make the cut anyways?
- curtisports2Lv 77 months agoFavorite Answer
He would be suspended for an undetermined amount of time for intentionally cheating. Players getting DQd is not unusual, and often when they do, it's because they self-report unintentional infractions where a DQ is assessed instead of penalty strokes. If a player just dropped another ball and swung at it when there was no question the shot wasn't out of bounds or in a hazard, where stroke plus distance is the penalty, that would be suspension-worthy.
- Ace ShortyLv 75 months ago
Nothing if he knocked it out of bounds or lost the ball.
- 7 months ago
The player would be assessed a two-stroke penalty after completion of his/her round if the ball was deemed lost, and if not then the player would likely be DQ'd and subject to further discipline (fine, possible suspension).
- BobLv 77 months ago
He would be disqualified
- What do you think of the answers? You can sign in to give your opinion on the answer.
- DavidLv 77 months ago
He'd immediately be disqualified.
- SkyLv 77 months ago
If he was playing in a tournament, playing a mulligan would probably get him disqualified from the rest of the game and he'd have to go sit in the clubhouse. The PGA judges follow the strict rules of golf and don't put up with that sort of thing. Some years ago a pro golfer missed a putt by a couple inches and, since he had no chance at winning, just picked it up and walked off the green. That got him disqualified from the entire tournament, meaning he didn't get any money for where he would have ended up in the standings, and it may have disqualified him from the next major tournament as well.