New to homegroup sharing?

If I restore my desktop pc to factory settings, will I lose all my info (pictures, documents, etc) on my laptop as well? If so is there a way to prevent it? My desktop is terribly slow, we've tried blowing out the fans and using those auto registry cleaners, virus scanners, malware removers. Nothing works, so I'm going to restore it to factory settings, but I don't want to lose all the virus protection and software that we've paid dearly for. Thanks for your help.

1 Answer

Relevance
  • 8 years ago
    Best answer

    Restoring to factory settings WILL get rid of everything you made / bought on the computer. Why not try upgrading your RAM. Normally upgrading your RAM will speed up your desktop... RAM can be bought from many, many places but you have to know the type of RAM you need. i suggest you take it to your nearest computer repair shop and get them to tell you what type of RAM you need and how much of it you can put in.

    But if you know what you are doing then you could open your case and look for these:

    http://static.ddmcdn.com/gif/ram-motherboard1.jpg

    DONT REMOVE THEM!

    just see if they have a sticker on them that tells you what they are. It could be something like: DDR, DDR2, DDR3 With: 1333MHz, 1066MHz Etc. Trygogglingg these and find a retailer that stocks a larger size. Or go to a computer repair shop and ask them, they normally have cheaper RAM......

    Alternatively, if you are so intent on restoring it to factory settings, go for it but you will lose everything unless you transfer it to a different PC through:Home groupp (1), Memory Stick Or external Hard drive.

    But even this will mean you lose your anti-virus.

    Hope this helps!

    (1)

    http://www.pcpro.co.uk/tutorials/350534/how-to-set...

Still have questions? Get answers by asking now.