1. Home >
  2. Travel >
  3. United Kingdom >
  4. London >
  5. Resolved Question
Peter Peter
Member since:
25 September 2009
Total points:
100 (Level 1)

Resolved Question

Show me another »

I have get job offer from one hotel called The Cavendish London , 81 Jermyn Street , St James, London . SW1Y6J?

AND THEY HAVE TOLD ME TO CONTRAT WINGS TRAVEL AGENCY UNITED KINGDOM
(FIRST CHOICE OF THE INDIANS)
Mr. Alex Williams (Travel agent)
Tel: + +44-7024016956
E mail: info@wingstravel-london.co.uk.
FOR VISA PLIS HELP ME TO KNOW THE TRUTH.
  • 2 months ago
Jo by Jo
Member since:
25 September 2009
Total points:
117 (Level 1)

Best Answer - Chosen by Asker

I am the HR Manager of The Cavendish Hotel.
Unfortunately Mr James Frank and Wings Travel are not employed by the hotel and have no connection to The Cavendish London. He is operating under a false identity, using a made up email and website address which is fraudulent activity and has been reported to the authorities.

The contracts he has sent are not The Cavendish hotel contracts and have been issued without our consent. I am sorry you have been mis-lead by this individual and would like to repeat there is no connection to the hotel and therefore the job offers do not exist.

I would like to thank you for bringing this to my attention, the matter has been reported to the police and I would urge you to have no further contact with Mr James Frank.
  • 2 months ago
Asker's Rating:
4 out of 5
Asker's Comment:
he is hr of that hotel he is speaking true
thankyou for helping me.
even me i just got an email from this person (Alex Williams)THE ATHENAEUM HOTELS LONDON&he is telling me that i have to contact wings travel agency email is info@wingstravel-london.co.uk to pay all the charges and he sent me something like offer letter call it official appointment letter/contrac

Report Abuse

Other Answers (8)

  • Kittysue by Kittysue
    A Top Contributor is someone who is knowledgeable in a particular category.
    Member since:
    09 March 2007
    Total points:
    97126 (Level 7)
    Badge Image:
    A Top Contributor is someone who is knowledgeable in a particular category.
    Contributing In:
    Other - Beauty & Style
    London
    Theatre & Acting
    That is a SCAM for so many reasons

    1 - a hotel in the UK cannot sponsor an overseas employee as hotel workers are not on the skills shortage list. They would have to prove that they advertised the position for 6 weeks and not one EU citizen applied before they could hire a foreigner. In this economy and with tens of thousands of experienced hotel workers unemployed in the UK alone, NO hotel could get a certificate of sponsorship

    2 - if you did not fly to the UK for an in-person interview at the hotel, the job does not exist. No company in the UK would ever offer a job to anyone over the internet. You normally have 2-3 in person interviews before you get a job. The Cavendish talks about their recruitment process on their website.
    http://www.thecavendish-london.co.uk/car…

    3 - that phone number is an international redirect number, not a UK number. No UK business would ever use a +4470 number. That is a number that forwards your call anywhere in the world, not in the UK

    4 - a UK travel agency cannot process work visas. If you were asked to contact anyone but the UK Home Office Border Agency, the British High Commission in India, or VFS, their authorised visa representative you are being scammed

    5 - the only registered company with the name Wings Travel in the UK is a coach travel company http://www.wingstravel.co.uk/index.php

    Here is the real Cavendish hotel website. Call their number, ask to speak with Human Resources, and they'll confirm this offer is not legit
    http://www.thecavendish-london.co.uk/
    It's cheaper to make an international call then to spend thousands of pounds on non-existent visa fees
    Or you can email them
    http://www.thecavendish-london.co.uk/con…
    • 2 months ago
  • froggequene by froggequ...
    A Top Contributor is someone who is knowledgeable in a particular category.
    Member since:
    01 April 2008
    Total points:
    31593 (Level 7)
    Badge Image:
    A Top Contributor is someone who is knowledgeable in a particular category.
    Contributing In:
    Immigration
    A travel agency cannot set you up with a work visa, this is a scam

    If the hotel were to employ you they would have to do the work applying for the visa & pay for it, not you

    The number you have been given to ring is also a premium rate number which means it would cost you a fortune to ring it

    This is a SCAM, ignore it & look for work elsewhere
    • 2 months ago
  • BRIAN C by BRIAN C
    Member since:
    06 June 2007
    Total points:
    17447 (Level 6)
    Did you apply for a job with them

    Did you have an interview for this job

    I suspect the answer to both questions is no - - so why would anyone offer a job to someone they have not seen - for one reason to scam you and take your money. The offer is NOT from The Cavendish - it is from someone who wants your money

    The telephone number is a mobile (cell) phone which could be anywhere in the world .

    Delete the e-mail - forget it - and wise up on th internet or you will lose a lot of your money and get nothing back for it.

    ..
    • 2 months ago
  • frankie by frankie
    A Top Contributor is someone who is knowledgeable in a particular category.
    Member since:
    22 August 2009
    Total points:
    5757 (Level 5)
    Badge Image:
    A Top Contributor is someone who is knowledgeable in a particular category.
    Contributing In:
    London
    Below is a link to the Cavandish Hotel - you can phone them up and ask if you feel unsure about whom to contact in regard to the job offer. . .

    http://www.thecavendish-london.co.uk/
    • 2 months ago
  • SLF by SLF
    Member since:
    10 April 2007
    Total points:
    7032 (Level 5)
    I can only repeat what others have said - the phone number is not a London phone number. This is not legitimate. why don't you ring the hotel and ask this question, they will tell you.
    • 2 months ago
  • London Bloke by London Bloke
    Member since:
    13 September 2009
    Total points:
    1262 (Level 3)
    One thing that I can tell you for certain, is that it's not a London phone number.
    Most probably a scam.
    • 2 months ago
  • DaySaver by DaySaver
    Member since:
    10 November 2008
    Total points:
    3280 (Level 4)
    It's a scam.

    Prestigious Hotel and a mobile phone number - I don't think so.
    • 2 months ago

Answers International

Yahoo! does not evaluate or guarantee the accuracy of any Yahoo! Answers content. Click here for the Full Disclaimer.

Help us improve Yahoo! Answers. Tell us what you think.